fbpx

What is the best barrel size for winemaking?

How to make a wooden barrel water tight?
January 10, 2018

The 228 liters pièce bourguignonne and the 225 liters barrique bordelaise often appear as references, when it comes to high end winemaking. However, there are many different barrel sizes that can work very well for their particular context or terroir.

In Chablis, the white wines are often made and aged in 132 liters casks called feuillettes. Whereas many winemakers from south France might prefer bigger sizes such as 500 liters, in order to facilitate the manipulations and maintenance (e.g. fewer units to clean or move around…).

The type of wine, the grape variety, the winemaking style and traditions are as many factors that can influence the “perfect size” of an oak barrel. The Cavin cooperage chose to focus on a broad optimal range, with barrel capacities going from 114 to 600 liters.

The 57 liters quarteaut cask can of course be used as an extra container, but its small capacity does not always guarantee the best winemaking conditions. The oak surface to wine ratio can be too high, and cause wine aging to bring to much “wood” taste. The opposite is true for huge barrels, where oak intake will be too low and diluted. Hence, we do not make these.

The Cavin cooperage has great experience with many different terroirs, so do not hesitate to contact us if you have particular needs or questions.

 

Comments are closed.

Quelle est la taille idéale d’un tonneau pour élever un vin ?

Quels sont les tailles de fûts proposés par notre Tonnellerie Cavin ?
novembre 8, 2017
Comment rendre un tonneau étanche ?
novembre 8, 2017

La pièce bourguignonne de 228L et la barrique bordelaise de 225L font souvent figure de référence, lorsqu’il s’agit d’élever un grand vin. Comme évoqué, il y a néanmoins une multitude de contenances de tonneaux. À Chablis, les vins blancs sont souvent élevés en feuillette de 132L, tandis que d’autre vignerons préféreront les contenances supérieures à 500L, pour faciliter les manipulations et l’entretien (moins d’unités à nettoyer, etc.).

Le type de vin, les cépages, le style de vinification et les traditions sont autant de facteurs qui influent sur la taille idéal d’un tonneau. La Tonnellerie Cavin a décidé de se focaliser sur une large fourchette optimale, avec des contenances de fûts allant de 114 à 600 litres.

Le quartaut de 57 litres peut certes être utilisé en appoint, mais la trop petite contenance d’un tonneau n’assure pas toujours les conditions d’une vinification optimale. Le ratio de la surface de chêne et du vin peut être trop élevé, et donner lieu à des élevages trop boisés. Il se produira l’inverse avec les tonneaux trop grands, où l’apport du chêne se dissipera dans la trop grande quantité de vin.

La Tonnellerie Cavin a une grande expérience des différents terroirs, donc n’hésitez pas à nous contacter afin que nous puissions vous conseiller selon votre cas particulier.

Comments are closed.